Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Shotgun Discussion > Mossberg 500 or Remington 870

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-23-2013, 12:43 AM   #31
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 694 Times on 475 Posts
Likes Given: 714

Quote:
Originally Posted by molonlabexx View Post
Check out the new CZ612 model. It is coming very soon later in the month. 870's I have heard are too heavy. If anything, a mossberg 500. 870 is more of a police duty firearm TBH I am not an expert, just giving my philosophy.
You're the Same person that thinks the 91/30 w/ bayonet is suited for CQ.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HockaLouis View Post
The sling is anything BUT serious -- it's a pendulum pulling the gun off target.
Now if it held a beer or 2!

Quote:
Originally Posted by texaswoodworker View Post
To be honest, just pick one. Both are good quality shotguns, both are extremely reliable, and you would be happy with either one. You can't really go wrong with a 500 or an 870.

Best answer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgt_Skrb_25 View Post
I have 2 500's.i like the fact that it can be upgraded easier and more parts readily available.
Upgrade?? It is a shotgun!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by CHLChris View Post
I have a Mossy 590a1 and I'm glad I have it, but I have a really hard time finding extras and parts and add-ons that are designed for it.

As soon as I can, I'd like to add an 870 to my collection. The 870 is like the Glock of the shotgun world, meaning that everybody makes parts for the 870.
If you need to replace parts, I'd walk away.

This is my 500. Not pretty, but very functional from waterfowl to HD. Bought it used 20 years ago. All the internal parts are Anodized.

Freedom is not free. The best of us always leave too soon.

Old 02-23-2013, 02:35 AM   #32

Liked 574 Times on 306 Posts

Jpatersonh,