Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Shotgun Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f26/)
-   -   Love the 500, but should I buy the SXP instead? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f26/love-500-but-should-i-buy-sxp-instead-100846/)

znviper6 11-26-2013 11:24 PM

Love the 500, but should I buy the SXP instead?

I've always loved the Mossberg 500....its a great gun that I have a lot of experience with since it was my father's favorite. I'm now in the market for a shotgun, mostly for grouse and occasionally duck hunting.
I would be very happy with a 500 and that's what I was going to get at first. Then I stopped by my local Gander MTN and held the Winchester SXP. And man did it feel good. The slide was like butter and it just felt right to me.

Is there any real reason I should not get the SXP over a 500? I know there isn't as much aftermarket support for the SXP but I really doubt ill do any modifying to it. I'm looking for cold hard facts. Thanks!

Virginian 11-27-2013 02:47 AM

The SXP is made in Turkey - not that there is anything wrong with that - and is FN/Winchester's third attempt to replace the venerable Model 12 with a gun with anywhere close to the appeal and durability. The Mossberg 500 trails only the Remington 870 among popularity of all the civilian arms ever made since the dawn of time. I prefer the feel of the Remington, but there is certainly nothing wrong with the 500. Jury is still out on the SXP.

znviper6 11-27-2013 03:59 PM

Glad to hear you've had god luck with yours Axxe. Im hoping to find myself an SXP that I can shoot before I buy one. If it shoots the way i'd like it to then i'll probably go with that. From what i've been reading people have been having good experiences. Eventually i'll still end up with a 500 in addition to the SXP :)

Argyle_Armoring 11-27-2013 04:21 PM