Inherited an old Ithaca Doulbe Barrel
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Shotgun Discussion > Inherited an old Ithaca Doulbe Barrel

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2012, 12:17 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 991 Times on 499 Posts
Likes Given: 2547

Default Inherited an old Ithaca Doulbe Barrel

At least I think it's old. I have to be honest, until this came into my possession, I had only heard gun enthusiasts mention the name Ithaca, I had never really looked into the company myself...now that Im an owner, however, im trying to learn as much as I can. (Just started researching today!)

So far, what I've found (and im a total noobie...so im hoping some experts can either verify or set me straight) is that I think this is a 1908 Ithaca Flues.

The metal is in fantastic condition - I can find no rust - anywhere - the barrels look very clean, and it looks like it has a nice patina. Based on other pictures of what I assume this shotgun is, it also looks like this baby was a practical shotgun - used for a purpose - and didn't just set on a mantle (It looks like some of the engravings have been rubbed away...if that's possible?)

I have some concerns - first off - I would imagine with it being over 100 years old, a modern 12 gauge cartridge would explode the barrel. That's a total guess, and based very loosely on various posts i've seen online that talk about modern ammo.

So if that's the case, how in the world do I go about finding ammo that would be safe to fire from it? If it's practical, I'd actually really like to take this rabbit hunting...unless of course that would diminish the value.

What i'm really trying to figure out is what exactly is this shot gun?

I know very little about this, mind you, but the wood seems to be completely original - it seems to have the same degree of wear that the metal does, and all around, this seems like it was very well taken care of (given that it's over 100 years old!)