Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Shotgun Discussion > getting ready to buy ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-19-2009, 12:41 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default getting ready to buy ...

Thanks for the warm welcome in the intro section! I hope it is ok if I jump in with a total newbie question!
I am looking for a home defense shotgun. I have 3 very young children.
I am pretty sold on the Mossberg 500... I held it in the store, I liked it, I see a lot of good reviews on it... But I dont know what to get - a 20 gauge? a 12? What is the .410? And I read so many places that buckshot is the right thing to use, but maybe it penetrates walls too much and I should use something else?

I would so appreciate any advice.

Keep it simple - its all new to me! Thanks guys!

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 09-19-2009, 01:20 AM   #2

Liked 1101 Times on 676 Posts
Likes Given: 2387

Great series of first questions and they are by no means newb questions! These are questions that many people who'v owned shotguns for years and years still debate. First I will say that in my opinion, the Mossberg 500 is the best bang for the buck shotgun on the market! A very close second would be the Remington 870, however it does cost slightly more then your average Mossy. As for 20ga v. 12 ga, I belive the only way to establish this is for you to personally fire both and see which one your more comfortable with! Go to a range and give them a try (Most ranges will have Mossy 500's for rent as well)!