Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Shotgun Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f26/)
-   -   First time shotgun purchase (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f26/first-time-shotgun-purchase-54641/)

nipanthers52 01-02-2012 08:48 PM

First time shotgun purchase

I'm new to hunting and gun owning and looking for a good multi-purpose 12 ga shotgun. Will use it mainly for deer hunting but will probably use it for some waterfowl as well. I'm new to the hunting world do don't need something crazy expensive but want a reliable gun that will get the job done for years to come! Any ideas\recommendations?

Gatoragn 01-02-2012 09:30 PM

Stoeger Model 3500

Stoeger Model 3500

Georgiahunter 01-02-2012 09:30 PM

Remington 870. Why not introduce yourself in the intro. section.

gmaster456 01-02-2012 10:17 PM

Mossberg 500/535. Also look at the Benelli Nova

nipanthers52 01-02-2012 10:42 PM

I've heard some mixed reviews on the Remington 870. I know it's an old staple but have you heard of any issues with it jamming? Also, where is the into section? I'll head out there! :) What do you think of the Winchester SX3?

nipanthers52 01-02-2012 10:44 PM

Also, should have clarified...looking at semi-autos! Thanks everyone!

JMat 01-02-2012 10:45 PM

Im also looking for my first shotgun and im looking at 2 12 gauges an 870 wood stock for 309$ and a supernova for 459$ with a synthetic stock. I like the weight of the 870, the supernova with the synthetic stock just feels too light. Whats do you "experienced" guys think? Pros and cons.. etc.

JMat 01-02-2012 10:52 PM

Sorry not trying to highjack your thread.

JPGunworks 01-02-2012 11:00 PM