Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Shotgun Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f26/)
-   -   Difference between skeet, trap and clays (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f26/difference-between-skeet-trap-clays-106924/)

cva209x50 05-11-2014 12:50 PM

Difference between skeet, trap and clays

What's the difference between clays, trap and skeet?

The one I shoot is :

One thrower set up next to me with the clays flying away from me at about a 45 to 50 degree angle.

My record is 12 in a row.

winds-of-change 05-11-2014 01:16 PM

2 Attachment(s)
Skeet is when the clays are thrown from one side or the other, high coming down or low going up. (From a high house or a low house.)

Trap is when the clay is thrown going away from you but not side to side.

The clays are the flying targets.

I'm just learning this stuff myself. You are certainly much better at it than I am. LOL

c3shooter 05-11-2014 01:24 PM

Sporting clays has a much closer resemblance to hunting.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sporting_clays

Last time I shot a round of sporting clays, I used a Remington 1100 Light Field in .410. I got 50% and was REAL proud of that! It has been said that Sporting Clays was created to teach humility. I agree!

indy36 05-11-2014 03:18 PM

Skeet, Trap, Sporting Clays, and 5-Stand are all distinctly different games. The length of your shot, the angle of your shot, the chokes used, etc aren't the same in each. The Internet will tell you everything you need to know. I shoot 95% skeet so I'm partial to that. I didn't like trap. I love 5-Stand but the closest place to shoot it to me is over an hour away. I've never shot sporting clays but I will. It's the golf of shotgun games. You walk around for 2 hours stopping along the way to shoot various targets and you'll shoot a lot more shells than a round of trap or skeet.

Sent from my iPhone using Firearms Talk