Chokes effect recoil???

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Shotgun Discussion > Chokes effect recoil???

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-05-2011, 08:38 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Chokes effect recoil???

I was shooting my mossberg500 at the range about a mounth ago and noticed that when i put a full choke on my 28" barrel, i felt i bit more recoil from shooting the same ammo. This dosnt really make much sense to me.

Am I crazy or do chokes actualy effect the amount of felt recoil, thought id ask you guys who have been shooting for a while. Im new to shotguns in general.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 12-05-2011, 12:53 PM   #2

Liked 9203 Times on 5058 Posts
Likes Given: 74

I've heard that they do, but I've never really noticed it myself.

Old 12-05-2011, 02:06 PM   #3
JTJ
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 1851 Times on 1002 Posts
Likes Given: 565

You are restricting the barrel at the muzzle so you are going to get a pressure increase which means a recoil increase. You can really feel it with a slug going through a choke over a cylinder bore.

Patron Member NRA
"I would not be an old man if I had not been an armed young man." JTJ
"Political correctness is a doctrine, fostered by a delusional, illogical minority, and promoted by mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a piece of feces by the clean end."

Old 12-05-2011, 11:51 PM   #4

Liked 128 Times on 98 Posts