Chokes?
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Shotgun Discussion > Chokes?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-20-2011, 02:52 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Chokes?

So I am really new to the shotgun world, just bought a brand new Mossy 500 and it has come with 2 accu-chokes, I honestly don't even know where or how to install it. Also I am not sure which two I would need for hunting dove and turkey. All help is appreciated.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 03-20-2011, 03:36 AM   #2
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 5913 Times on 3086 Posts
Likes Given: 415

typically you need a choke wrench to remove or install them.

looks something along this line:

the tighter the choke the longer out the optimal pattern goes kinda like this:

"Gun control: The theory that a woman found dead in an alley, raped and strangled with her panty hose, is somehow morally superior to a woman explaining to police how her attacker got that fatal bullet wound." — L. Neil Smith

The problem with being stupid is you cannot simply decide to stop doing dumb things...

Old 03-20-2011, 03:52 AM   #3
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 1250 Times on 701 Posts
Likes Given: 525

Default Chokes

For turkey use a full or extra full choke, check the pattern on several different size shot. I like Federal Mag Shok #4, but 5's or 6's can work also.

For dove use modified or improved cylinder, depending on how close they are flying. If you have to setup away from overhead cover use the modified. If you can set up along a tree line, the IC might be a good choice as you might get some closer shots.