Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Shotgun Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f26/)
-   -   Chokes? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f26/chokes-40030/)

Hadouken 03-20-2011 02:52 AM

Chokes?

So I am really new to the shotgun world, just bought a brand new Mossy 500 and it has come with 2 accu-chokes, I honestly don't even know where or how to install it. Also I am not sure which two I would need for hunting dove and turkey. All help is appreciated.

JonM 03-20-2011 03:36 AM

typically you need a choke wrench to remove or install them.

looks something along this line:

http://images1.tacticalstore.com/180...-835-95205.png

the tighter the choke the longer out the optimal pattern goes kinda like this:

http://tgscom.com/images/sharedimage...guns/choke.jpg

Gatoragn 03-20-2011 03:52 AM

Chokes

For turkey use a full or extra full choke, check the pattern on several different size shot. I like Federal Mag Shok #4, but 5's or 6's can work also.

For dove use modified or improved cylinder, depending on how close they are flying. If you have to setup away from overhead cover use the modified. If you can set up along a tree line, the IC might be a good choice as you might get some closer shots.

Modified is a good all around choice, for dove, pheasant, etc.

AleksiR 03-20-2011 04:02 AM

There should be a choke key with the gun in a small paper bag. Im using the original modified choke on my Mossy 835 for dove.

c3shooter 03-20-2011 04:24 AM

You have been given good advice. This is a link to the owner's manual for your shotgun. Chokes are page 17. http://stevespages.com/pdf/mossberg_535_manual.pdf

Hadouken 03-20-2011 04:51 AM

So how are the accu-chokes that came with the gun?

AleksiR 03-20-2011 05:09 AM