Best shotgun for beginner
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Shotgun Discussion > Best shotgun for beginner

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-05-2010, 01:24 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Best shotgun for beginner

I am just starting my search for a shotgun. I want something that is easy to operate, clean, maintain and has the least amount of kick. It would be used for vermin--possibly an occasional coyote. I have very little gun experience. But now that I am way out in the country, I realize I should have something for protection.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 12-05-2010, 02:17 PM   #2

Liked 710 Times on 488 Posts
Likes Given: 730

I bought my middle son an H&R Topper deluxe in 20ga. He has used it for waterfowl, crows, skeet. One problem w/ a 20ga is all I can find local for shot is #5. I use #4 minimum in 12ga for coyotes. Good shotgun overall, great price.

Freedom is not free. The best of us always leave too soon.

Old 12-05-2010, 02:28 PM   #3

Liked 5 Times on 3 Posts

I would go with a Remington 870 - in whatever configuration you choose. As long as you hold the butt in tight to your shoulder, the recoil is easily manageable with 2 3/4" loads. Plus there is a plethora of ammo choices in 12ga, including low recoil loads.

ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!

Old 12-05-2010, 03:14 PM   #4

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Mossberg 500 in 20ga. A single shot, break-down H&R or NEF will also suit your needs. Have fun and let us know what you choose.

Old 12-05-2010, 07:48 PM   #5