Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   General Shotgun Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f26/)
-   -   any advice to help me improve my shooting? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f26/any-advice-help-me-improve-my-shooting-20534/)

ItsmeShane 11-29-2009 12:43 AM

any advice to help me improve my shooting?

I'm new to shooting shotguns. Ive been going to turkey shoots lately, and sometimes I do good and sometimes I do really bad. I don't know what i'm doing wrong, but any advice that will help me shoot good consistently would be awesome. Thanks.

c3shooter 11-29-2009 01:58 AM

Well, a turkey shoot is a bit of a crap shoot, in that EXACTLY where that pellet hits is, to an extent, up to the whims of the Smoothbore Gods. However- do you know just where your shotgun pattens in relation to the point of aim- at the distance you are shooting? Some are higher or lower than you expect- some left or right. Have seen my dad walk away from a shoot with 9 turkeys- he was using a sxs Fox- and knew EXACTLY where that gun patterned. Secondly, unlike wing shooting, where you are swinging on a moving target- Turkey shoot targets don't move. So.... How are you shooting? Standing offhand- with all the wobbles THAT involves- or kneeling- a LOT more stable position.

Anyone else? Anyone? Bueller? Anyone?

cpttango30 11-29-2009 02:31 AM

you really are at the mercy of the smooth bore gods. You do need to pattern your gun.
I have seen kids come in with a mossberg 500 and win 3 out of 8 rounds in one night and the guys with $2000 custom shotguns aren't hitting crap. At mine when it rains the guns hit harder (meaning that they put more shot on taget).

ItsmeShane 11-29-2009 11:53 AM