advise purchasing shotgun and ammo - Page 3
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > General Shotgun Discussion >

advise purchasing shotgun and ammo

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-10-2014, 05:37 PM   #21
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 206 Times on 131 Posts
Likes Given: 164

Quote:
I'm planning to purchase a shotgun. Probably the Mossberg 88 12 gauge. I have zero experience with shotguns.
I've come to a point in my life where giving GOOD advice is more important than giving a popular view on a issue. DON't buy a shotgun.!!!!!!!

You are doing it for all the wrong reasons. Since you said this is your first shotgun, then you need to get one that you will actually use. Will you be using it for duck or geese hunting, then you will need a 32 inch barrel, smooth bore barrel that will take steel shot. Will you be using it for deer hunting, then you will need a 24 inch rifled barrel for slugs that has sights on it. Will you be shooting skeet with it, then you need at least a 28 inch barrel that accepts 5 or 6 different chokes for the barrel. Will you be turkey hunting with it, then again a longer 32 inch barrel that will accept a turkey choke.

While I can drive screws in with a hammer and drive nails in with the handle of my screwdriver, neither tool was made for the wrong task.

The most popular caliber for shotguns is 12 gauge, the easiest caliber to learn how to use a shotgun is the 410, the best all around caliber for a beginner on a shotgun is the 20 gauge.(but the shells will be a bit more expensive)

I am not a fan of the shotgun even though I have own a many over the past 30 years, I am a fan of semi-auto pistols and rifles and that is what I shoot the most.