What's A Good, Budget "Non-Assault" Rifle?
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > What's A Good, Budget "Non-Assault" Rifle?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2011, 10:12 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 43

Default What's A Good, Budget "Non-Assault" Rifle?

I am looking to get a few firearms (shotgun, rifle, pistol) for security mostly. I hope to make this a one-time purchase and pray I don't become addicted to them during my "getting to know you" period with my guns. I am very new to all of this so please keep that in mind.

What is a good budget semi-auto rifle that is not classified as an "assault rifle"? I don't want any legal headaches if someone does get hurt, God forbid. I would like something with stopping power but I also don't want a round that can't be stopped. I would guess anything over 200-300 yards would be overkill but you folks would know better than I would. I was looking at the 7.62x39 round but I would think that would be strictly an "assault" rifle round... but then again, I have no idea. Any recommendations?

Last edited by ryevick; 02-24-2011 at 10:20 PM.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 02-24-2011, 10:28 PM   #2
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 5662 Times on 2957 Posts
Likes Given: 375