Side charging bolt

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > Side charging bolt

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-04-2014, 10:26 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Side charging bolt

Hello, I'm new here and apologize for not starting intro thread. I made a hasty decision and put down a good % of money for a side charging 6.5 grendel. My concerns are- if your in the field /bush a lot and like to hunt, would the side charger be susceptible to failure because of dirt accumulations ? It does not have a dust cover!!! Anyone have a solid opinion on the matter. I'm going to have to cancel the order and lose some money because I get the feeling it would fail way to quickly when in the woods.
Should I be worried? I'm new to the platform and have gotten different info. The maker says it will be fine- " lots of battle rifles have side charging handle without a cover " but this one seems to have some spaces where the bolt is. Any advice is appreciated.

image.jpg  

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 06-04-2014, 11:08 PM   #2

Liked 1125 Times on 746 Posts
Likes Given: 740

I personally wouldn't worry about it. Some AR's don't even HAVE a dust cover. Where do you hunt? A desert? In mud puddles? How's enough stuff going to get in there and make it fail? Cool upper, BTW. Never seen one like it.

I don't see what the problem is. Everybody is being nice, and getting along, and I, for one, am learning stuff. So, if you don't like the discussion, don't look at the thread. Or, simply cut to the chase, and close it.

Old 06-05-2014, 12:15 AM   #3
JTJ