Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f25/)
-   -   M1A vs. Daewoo Dr200 (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f25/m1a-vs-daewoo-dr200-86242/)

LateralSage 03-10-2013 10:12 PM

M1A vs. Daewoo Dr200

I am new to the firearms community and am wishing to purchase a new rifle.
after months of internet searching, referrals, and reviews i have come up with two rifles i am interested in buying. The m1a or a deawoo dr200 (the one chambered in 5.56). I was wondering if anyone had any opinion on which is a better rifle for beginners wishing to get into recreational and competitive shooting as well as for home defense.
Thanks,
LateralSage

Sniper03 03-11-2013 01:17 AM

Sage,

When you advised Competition Shooting, that definitely swings the pendulum to the M1-A, M1-A Loaded Model or the M1-A National Match Model. None any better.

Nothing wrong with at all with the Daewoo. However in the 223 AR200 is not a match model gun unless you might be shooting 3 gun matches or something similar. Certainly a great gun and fun to shoot as well as defense. At the present time good quality ammunition for either may be a little difficult to get due to the present crazy demand. You will just need to shop around. Ammo is available if you look around.

Good Luck on your selection!:)

25-5 03-11-2013 07:26 PM

I agree with Sniper. I have the M1A National match. For home defense you will be able to help the folks 2 blocks away. :D

LateralSage 03-12-2013 02:04 AM

Thanks for your responses i am definitely swinging toward the M1-A :)

KingTiger 03-13-2013 03:56 PM

Those are two totally different platforms & calibers.

Here's a few mods that I had done to my 'Woo that greatly improved it -

- Installed an Ace side-folding stock w/other parts to get my made in USA parts count up.