M1A vs AR-10
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > M1A vs AR-10

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-15-2010, 07:52 PM   #1
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 269 Times on 211 Posts
Likes Given: 36

Default M1A vs AR-10

On the short list for my next purchases is a .308 sports utility rifle. I'd like something precision capable for several hundred yards (though I may lack the skill to deliver), but with a 16-20" barrel in more of a CQB platform. This is not intended for hunting. It would mostly be a zombie/target/fun gun. Already have an AR-15, and I've wanted a nice semi-auto 308 for some time. I figure most of the decent setups are gonna run $1500-2000 by the time you add accessories and optics.

I've looked over the RRA LAR-8, SA M1A, FN FNAR...but I'm a novice on the subject for sure. So I'd like to hear what some of you folks like about one platform vs the other, advantages/disadvantages, etc....

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 12-15-2010, 09:22 PM   #2

Liked 8 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Have you thought about an AR in .308 or are you wanting a different platform all together? I like the Springfield M1A quite a bit. I just think they feel good.

"They're on our right, they're on our left, they're in front of us, they're behind us; they can't get away from us this time."
Chesty Puller, USMC, Chosin Reservoir, Korean War

"You cannot exaggerate about the Marines. They are convinced to the point of arrogance, that they are the most ferocious fighters on earth - and the amusing thing about it is that they are."