Im new to firearm collecting.. I need some help.

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > Im new to firearm collecting.. I need some help.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-08-2011, 05:52 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Im new to firearm collecting.. I need some help.

How can I determine the year my firearm was produced. I am mainly talking about my 20ga its an H&R topper model, but I would like to know if there is a general way to do it for all firearms?

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 08-08-2011, 06:46 PM   #2
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 8855 Times on 3835 Posts
Likes Given: 1382

Well, the old joke was that you had to saw the gun in half, and count the rings, but.......

Serious answer- there is no one way to determine that age of a firearm. It varies wildly from one maker to another.

For Ruger and Browning, go to their website, and look under Customer Service, Historical Data- and they list serial number ranges from one year to another.

For Marlin Lever action rifles, the letter prefix to the SN indicates year, until late model guns changed to a different pattern in the serial number.

Remington- it was a 2 or 3 letter code stamped on the barrel, would tell you month and year.

Winchester- 2 different goups of experts argue over years for different serial numbers, but the Cody Museum in Wyoming has the records from Winchester.

For many guns, closest you can get is a date RANGE. I collect early Remington and Mossberg 22s. They did not HAVE serial numbers. So that goes to "What years was a Mossington Mdl Q36 made?"