Firearm & Gun Forum -

Firearm & Gun Forum - (
-   Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion (
-   -   Im new to firearm collecting.. I need some help. (

Beastazz 08-08-2011 06:52 PM

Im new to firearm collecting.. I need some help.
How can I determine the year my firearm was produced. I am mainly talking about my 20ga its an H&R topper model, but I would like to know if there is a general way to do it for all firearms?

c3shooter 08-08-2011 07:46 PM

Well, the old joke was that you had to saw the gun in half, and count the rings, but.......:)

Serious answer- there is no one way to determine that age of a firearm. It varies wildly from one maker to another.

For Ruger and Browning, go to their website, and look under Customer Service, Historical Data- and they list serial number ranges from one year to another.

For Marlin Lever action rifles, the letter prefix to the SN indicates year, until late model guns changed to a different pattern in the serial number.

Remington- it was a 2 or 3 letter code stamped on the barrel, would tell you month and year.

Winchester- 2 different goups of experts argue over years for different serial numbers, but the Cody Museum in Wyoming has the records from Winchester.

For many guns, closest you can get is a date RANGE. I collect early Remington and Mossberg 22s. They did not HAVE serial numbers. So that goes to "What years was a Mossington Mdl Q36 made?"

There are very few references for H&R. Mr. Bill Goforth, the most knowledgable man I have ever encountered on Iver Johnson and H&Rs wrote some of those, but Bill passed away last year.