Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > Everything Slidefire or "the thing that goes up..."

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-22-2012, 05:29 PM   #101
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 32 Times on 18 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by fsted2a View Post
Ok; so you are saying the Bushmaster tube was too tight? The reason I ask is I have a Bushmaster tube on my carbine, and I am wondering if I buy a slide fire in the future if that is what I need to change.
Yes, the bushmaster uses a commercial spec tube which is slightly larger in diameter than milspec. The slidefire is advertised to work with commercial or mil spec tubes but i found that the bushmaster tube was too tight of a fit inside the slidefire stock to work properly. Some modification could be done such as sanding or filing material to make it work, but for $20 and the simplicity of swapping the tube, the time to modify just wasnt worth it. You will need a spanner wrench to take off the castle nut if you do not already have one. Be careful with the spring and detent too. Theyre easy to lose if youre not paying attention. But really, even considering all that, its a 5 minute job to change out the tube. You do not need a new spring or buffer as long as you have a carbine length collapsible stock and tube to start with. The buffer tube and spring inside the vietnam era type a2 stocks wont work.

Old 10-23-2012, 01:30 AM   #102

Liked 8 Times on 7 Posts

I finally got it workin and it is soo much fun. I wish i had a 22 upper for it so I could blow through ammo cheaply.

Old 10-23-2012, 02:50 AM   #103

Liked 143 Times on 83 Posts
Likes Given: 760

1 or 2 bubble wrap pieces taped or glued to the "full auto glove'' (index finger) presto!!! Or a glove,like the reebok pumps? just dial in your trigger/recoil.

Old 10-23-2012, 10:43 AM   #104

Quote:
Originally Posted by biggs9599 View Post