Tips and tricks for newbies
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Blackpowder & Musket > Tips and tricks for newbies

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-13-2009, 02:00 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 23

Default Tips and tricks for newbies

A buddy of mine told me the best way to clean a Thompson center Arms barrel was to remove it from the gun. Then fill the kitchen sink up with hot water and some dish soap, take the ramrod and a patch and run it through while the barrel is submerged on one end, the result is suction and a very effective cleaning.

I am new to muzzle loading and have only shot my hawkens a few times. Any tips or tricks would be appreciated.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 06-13-2009, 05:09 AM   #2

Liked 77 Times on 52 Posts
Likes Given: 28

A five gallon bucket is just as effective and doesn't muss up the sink. Once it's clean spray it out liberally with WD-40 to displace any water left behind. Run a few more patches to remove the WD-40 and lube with a vegetable based lube. You do not want to use a petroleum based lube in a bore or revolver chambers. It's ok in the action or lock. You need to periodically remove the nipple and use anti seize on the threads. Some people remove the nipple every time they clean but I find it unnecessary. Before you load it up run a clean patch down the bore and fire a cap to make sure everything is clear and burn off any lube in the bottom of the chamber. Some people store rifles muzzle down so excess lube won't pool in the chamber.

Old 06-13-2009, 03:21 PM   #3