starter gun
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Blackpowder & Musket > starter gun

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-30-2009, 09:04 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default starter gun

Hi, I am brand new to black powder rifles, and I was wondering what a good starter gun would be. I would kind of like a long rifle, but I can definitely compromise there depending on how expensive they are. My budget is about $250, and I am planning on finding something used. What should I look for? Thanks for your feedback!

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 08-30-2009, 09:42 PM   #2

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Before we get too involved, you should stop by the "Introductions" thread and introduce yourself to the rest of the forum. Now, depending on what you wish to do, there are two choices you need to make:
1. Traditional Sidelock percussion, or
2. Inline

I'm a traditionalist, so all of my BP arms are muzzleloading sidelocks and Colt reproductions. Many I purchased during the 80's when CVA was in the business of selling kits cheaply. Their traditional line of BP arms was bought-out by Traditions. You can get a reasonably priced Traditions basic .50 cal. rifle for under $200. Pick up a Cabela's catalog, they have a nice variety of both traditional and in-line BP guns. Dixie Gun Works specializes in BP firearms, but is generally very expensive. MidSouthShooters.Com has some Traditions guns priced very reasonably. Welcome to FTF!

Pain is Weakness Leaving the Body - USMC
"Qui desiderat pacem, praeparet bellum"

Old 08-31-2009, 12:45 AM   #3

Liked 79 Times on 54 Posts