new to black powder
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Blackpowder & Musket > new to black powder

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-27-2012, 05:15 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 12 Times on 10 Posts

Default new to black powder

im looking at a traditions kentucky parts kit percussion rifle. im wondering if its a good gun to start out with? i have some experience with black powder guns like cleaning, taking them down just never shot them before. i like how i could do the stock and put it together.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 11-27-2012, 07:26 AM   #2
No Longer a NY Resident.
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 1753 Times on 1081 Posts
Likes Given: 9667

Quote:
Originally Posted by BWilder View Post
im looking at a traditions kentucky parts kit percussion rifle. im wondering if its a good gun to start out with? i have some experience with black powder guns like cleaning, taking them down just never shot them before. i like how i could do the stock and put it together.
When I was in my teens, my dad brought home an 1861 Colt Navy kit that he picked up at the PX. Some of the best times that we had with each other are from that father son build. I am pretty sure that you will enjoy the build, and it will mean so much more to you when you fire off the first round from that rifle. Take your time, and enjoy the build. Yes, you picked up a good first BP rifle.