My new tackdriver Rifle/Lyman Deerstalker
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Blackpowder & Musket > My new tackdriver Rifle/Lyman Deerstalker

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-18-2007, 03:51 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default My new tackdriver Rifle/Lyman Deerstalker

Guys, I have been shooting blackpowder guns for 20+ years. I have built 3 kits during that time, 2 CVA percussion pistols( Colonial and a Kentucky) and a Thompson center Hawken. The TC 50 cal has always been extremely accurate and will consistantly shoot 3-4 inch groups at 75 yards with balls. Pretty damn good IMO and plenty good enough to take game. A few months ago I got that hair in my hind quarter to buy another rifle and I settled on a Lyman "deerstalker" carbine I bought it online for around 200 bucks. It wasnt until last weekend I got a chance to shoot it and it suprised all of us at the range that day. Its a 54 cal and with Lyman balls/70 grains of Blackpowder it is shooting consistant 1.5 inch groups from the bench at 75 yards That is better accuracy than many of my modern guns. It has about the same accuracy with the mini balls although I havent put enough of those downrange to be sure I have the right load and bullet combo for this gun.
Anyway if all of these production guns shoot this well that is one hell of a deal on a high quality, accurate hunting gun. It has modern sights which wont make the traditionalists happy but it sure in the heck has a smile on my face every time I pull the trigger.......................John

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here