Muzzleloader Danger - Page 2
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Blackpowder & Musket > Muzzleloader Danger

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-12-2008, 04:02 AM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

I don't think it could happen unless you are doing everything backwards or smoking. The rifle if it is a cap doesn't have a cap on the nipple yet and the hammer is not cocked anyway. The flinter has not got the primer in the pan so I don't see how it could happen. If the powder was going to go off it would go off before you set the roundball. The odds are 99.99999 out of 100 that is aint goin off.

Old 03-22-2008, 03:53 PM   #12

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default muzzle loader Danger

If your spooky about loose powder you may want to consider triple seven pellets

Old 04-01-2008, 02:33 AM   #13

Likes Given: 11

I have been reenacting for 20+ years and only had one quick fire and it was when I poured Powder down the tube and there was a live spark in the barrel , that is why you keep it pointed away from you while loading

Old 05-01-2008, 04:22 PM   #14

Actually,a friend of mine experienced this fenomenon when he was ramming the wad down on the powdercharge.He nearly got the ramrod hitting him on the chin.It CAN happen,allthough it is seldom one hear about it happening.I do not know or remember exactly what kind of rifle he was using at the time.

Old 05-01-2008, 08:39 PM   #15

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by zepman View Post
It IS a real possibility and thats why its a good practice NOT to pour powder directly from your flask into the barrel.It is much safer to have 70 grains(from a measure) or so ignite in your hand then a 1/4 pound. I swab my barrel inbetween each shot, one for better accuracy and second to put out any embers that may be lurking. ................John