Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Blackpowder & Musket > I'm new to muzzleloading guys

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-12-2012, 11:05 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default I'm new to muzzleloading guys

I've become very interested in giving muzzleloader hunting a shot. I would like to purchase a very cheap weapon to start off with and upgrade at a later date if I decide I enjoy the experience. I do intend to just pick it up at the local Cabela's. I've been considering these options they offer.

-T/C Impact $249.99
-Tradition Canyon $129.88 (with case)
-Traditions Buckstalker $199.99

As a cheap gun to just try out muzzleloading for a season or two I find them hard to beat. I just want opinions and other options you all may of come across. Preferably under $250 with $300 being my absolute limit.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 06-12-2012, 11:45 PM   #2

Liked 813 Times on 621 Posts
Likes Given: 125

I think u r on the right track.

Old 06-13-2012, 12:14 AM   #3
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 8449 Times on 3666 Posts
Likes Given: 1301

FWIW, when everyone started looking for the newest in-line, #209 primer, pelleted pyrodex, saboted pistol bullet, a lot of traditional sidelock #11 cap rifles found their way to the used market. I paid $150for a TC Hawken, 50 cal, set triggers, does a WONDERFUL job with .50 cal Maxiballs. Shop around- check the internet auction sites (gunbroker, auctionarms, gunsamerica).

<--- Your Moderators at our weekly Troll Hunt

Old 06-18-2012, 12:26 AM   #4

Liked 36 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 17