Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Blackpowder & Musket (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f22/)
-   -   I'm new to muzzleloading guys (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f22/im-new-muzzleloading-guys-66321/)

lunchbox76 06-12-2012 11:05 PM

I'm new to muzzleloading guys

I've become very interested in giving muzzleloader hunting a shot. I would like to purchase a very cheap weapon to start off with and upgrade at a later date if I decide I enjoy the experience. I do intend to just pick it up at the local Cabela's. I've been considering these options they offer.

-T/C Impact $249.99
-Tradition Canyon $129.88 (with case)
-Traditions Buckstalker $199.99

As a cheap gun to just try out muzzleloading for a season or two I find them hard to beat. I just want opinions and other options you all may of come across. Preferably under $250 with $300 being my absolute limit.

HockaLouis 06-12-2012 11:45 PM

I think u r on the right track.

c3shooter 06-13-2012 12:14 AM

FWIW, when everyone started looking for the newest in-line, #209 primer, pelleted pyrodex, saboted pistol bullet, a lot of traditional sidelock #11 cap rifles found their way to the used market. I paid $150for a TC Hawken, 50 cal, set triggers, does a WONDERFUL job with .50 cal Maxiballs. Shop around- check the internet auction sites (gunbroker, auctionarms, gunsamerica).

W. C. Quantrill 06-18-2012 12:26 AM