Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Blackpowder & Musket (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f22/)
-   -   Dueling Pistol?? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f22/dueling-pistol-54640/)

Trez 01-02-2012 06:59 PM

Dueling Pistol??

4 Attachment(s)
This is my first time in this section!.. :p I know next to nothing about black powder stuff, and was wondering what this pistol is..
It was my dads and supposedly is a old dueling pistol, but people have told me everything from its just a well made kit, a replica, or that it could be a real dueling pistol.. So I thought id ask the forum...

It uses a percussion cap and from what I understand, the percussion cap didnt come out until around the end of when dueling was no longer popular, so usually dueling pistols were flintlocks. Most cap pistols of this style are target pistols, but those have rifled barrels and mines smoothbore. In fact, this pistol does adhere to all the rules for dueling...

The gun is marked "2" on the barrel and "action" (I dont know what you guys call that part of the gun...) but both dueling and target pistols usually came two to a set... Theres a "54" marked on the action, and proof marks on the barrel two "B<" and what looks like a backwards "feathery" cursive F.
So do I have a "late" dueling pistol or a repro? Do you think its shootable, or should it be a wallhanger? What about finding out the caliber?
How about cleaning it? Theres some surface rust in the bore that doesnt seem to bad, but how do I run a brush through the barrel when the back of the barrel is closed? Like I said im a noob on BP....:o

(You guys like pics, so theres gonna be a few....)

Trez 01-02-2012 07:01 PM

4 Attachment(s)
More pics....

Hawg 01-02-2012 07:36 PM