Black powder derringer questions
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Blackpowder & Musket >

Black powder derringer questions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-16-2011, 03:15 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 492 Times on 309 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default Black powder derringer questions

hey all, i'm new to black powder & i have a CMC black powder derringer that used to be my dad's. I'm sure some of you guys are familiar with it, it's a brass framed double barrelled, double hammered kit gun that i appears to be a .36 cal

my question i guess is, what type of caps or primers do i use, & how many grains of powder do i load it with?

i don't plan to shoot it much & am definatly gonna go on the low side with the powder charges. since the local gun shops don't seem to carry .36 balls, when i do shoot it i might just for sh*ts & giggles load a few bb's & use it as a weak poor mans shotgun.

or should i just make it a wall hanger?

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 06-16-2011, 04:19 AM   #2

Liked 117 Times on 80 Posts
Likes Given: 41

Wall hanger or paperweight. If you just have to shoot it it's a smooth bore and takes .350 balls. About 12 grains of powder and #10 caps. It might penetrate a cardboard refrigerator box from 10 feet. If you can hit it.

Old 06-18-2011, 01:29 AM   #3

Liked 492 Times on 309 Posts
Likes Given: 12