Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Blackpowder & Musket > Advice on Flintlock Firearms...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2011, 03:34 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Advice on Flintlock Firearms...

Does any here have experience with flintlock rifles (or pistols) and have any advice on the pros and cons of flintlocks and would you consider them to be a viable long term gun more so than other guns, provided I would be casting bullets, making wadding and black powder on my own.

I am looking to possibly purchase a flintlock rifle in the next 2 weeks or so. I currently try to live as basic as possible and make as many goods as possible ( which is most of my needs actually). My goal for buying a flintlock would be to become more self sufficient in yet another aspect. Making BP, wadding and casting lead is all familiar to me but I would be a total newbie to flintlocks. Any advice is appreciated.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 01-29-2011, 03:59 AM   #2

Liked 31 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Better have a source for flints, too. A broken flint will put you right out of business, unless you want to ignight the powder in the pan with a smoldering piece of rope!

People get the government they deserve.

Old 01-29-2011, 04:15 AM   #3
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 8449 Times on 3666 Posts
Likes Given: 1301