What .22lr firearms should I avoid? - Page 23
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > .22 Rifle/Rimfire Discussion > What .22lr firearms should I avoid?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2012, 04:45 PM   #221
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 862 Times on 648 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by blucoondawg
Seems to me that while quite accurate, pretty much any semi 22 made by Remington has been a piece of crap. I had the viper and it was very accurate but was a bad jammer, my buddy had the 552 speedmaster, it was also a piece of crap. There was the Remington model 66 also known as the Nylon 66 which I have no experience with but have heard some not so good things, then there's the 597 which came out after the Viper was discontinued, I haven't owned one of these but at the time they came out my local gunshop refused to carry them due to jamming issues. So though it pains me to say it because I am a big Remington fan, their 22s are crap. I bought a ruger 10/22, cant go wrong with a design that has been around for so long, the only failure it has experienced was due to a cheapo plastic 30rd clip i picked up to try, pos.
552 and nylons are great guns....they are like m 60 marlins in the fact that they need cleaned inside hardcore every so often

God didnt make all men equal colonel Sam Colt did

Old 03-03-2012, 05:53 PM   #222

Liked 205 Times on 130 Posts
Likes Given: 434

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marlinman View Post
552 and nylons are great guns....they are like m 60 marlins in the fact that they need cleaned inside hardcore every so often

the 522 I'm refering to was unreliable at best, shot great as far as hitting your target but you never knew if you were gonna have a second shot, even after good cleanings and 2 trips to a gunsmith it still didn't function reliably, he ended up trading it in on a 10/22. I don't have experience with marlins. My dad has a Browning BAR22, that is a nice rifle

Old 03-03-2012, 06:21 PM   #223