Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > .22 Rifle/Rimfire Discussion > Types of .22 ammo

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2010, 02:09 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Types of .22 ammo

I have a Marlin .22 Glenfield Model 60. I'm just starting to use the rifle at the range and I'm just starting to learn about different ammo. My question is can I use .22 MWR TMJ High Velocity ammo in this rifle. The last time I fired the rifle I was using High Velocity LR ammo (which worked great) and this time I bought a different kind by accident (which is longer). If I need to take it back that's fine it's just that I'm going to the range tomorrow morning. If you can add any info on different .22 ammo out there I would much appreciate it. Thanks!

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 03-27-2010, 02:16 AM   #2

Liked 1685 Times on 951 Posts
Likes Given: 1131

I think you mean 22wmr. Anyway, if it is longer than the 22lr it is a 22 mag. Don't try to shoot it out of your rifle. The two rounds are not interchangable. I also hate to be the bearer of bad news. But to the best of my knowledge it is illegal for the store to accept a return of ammunition. You are probably stuck with it. I am sure that someone else will chime in if I am wrong. But I am pretty sure. I don't think it is just a Colorado law either.

I bet someone here would be happy to take it off your hands though. I don't have a 22 mag. Otherwise I would offer to.

Romans 1:16 I am not ashamed of the gospel, because it is the power of God for the salvation of everyone who believes: first for the Jew, then for the Gentile.