Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   .22 Rifle/Rimfire Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f21/)
-   -   Types of .22 ammo (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f21/types-22-ammo-25230/)

phoinixbird 03-27-2010 02:09 AM

Types of .22 ammo

I have a Marlin .22 Glenfield Model 60. I'm just starting to use the rifle at the range and I'm just starting to learn about different ammo. My question is can I use .22 MWR TMJ High Velocity ammo in this rifle. The last time I fired the rifle I was using High Velocity LR ammo (which worked great) and this time I bought a different kind by accident (which is longer). If I need to take it back that's fine it's just that I'm going to the range tomorrow morning. If you can add any info on different .22 ammo out there I would much appreciate it. Thanks!

Rick1967 03-27-2010 02:16 AM

I think you mean 22wmr. Anyway, if it is longer than the 22lr it is a 22 mag. Don't try to shoot it out of your rifle. The two rounds are not interchangable. I also hate to be the bearer of bad news. But to the best of my knowledge it is illegal for the store to accept a return of ammunition. You are probably stuck with it. I am sure that someone else will chime in if I am wrong. But I am pretty sure. I don't think it is just a Colorado law either.

I bet someone here would be happy to take it off your hands though. I don't have a 22 mag. Otherwise I would offer to.

phoinixbird 03-27-2010 02:41 AM

Thanks Rick1967, I would have hated damaging the gun or worse myself. Ammo sales are final in Indiana too. I guess it's time to buy another gun :-)

Txhillbilly 03-27-2010 02:46 AM

Want some choices? Here you go!

22ammo.com

M14sRock 03-27-2010 05:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by phoinixbird (Post 258331)
Thanks Rick1967, I would have hated damaging the gun or worse myself. Ammo sales are final in Indiana too. I guess it's time to buy another gun :-)