Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   .22 Rifle/Rimfire Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f21/)
-   -   Is it true that the only gun that can truely be silenced in a .22 ruger? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f21/true-only-gun-can-truely-silenced-22-ruger-43984/)

Tazorac 06-17-2011 10:16 AM

Is it true that the only gun that can truely be silenced in a .22 ruger?

I've read that the only gun that can truly be silenced is a .22 ruger..is that true? I'm a gun novice

opaww 06-17-2011 11:23 AM

No many guns can be silenced; the effectiveness of a suppressed weapon is dependent on the quality of the suppresser and the ammo being subsonic. The SIG mosquito and the Walther P22 are among the most suppressed pistols in society today.

Do a youtube search for silenced hand guns and you can view many guns on there that are silenced and see for yourself.

dnthmn2004 06-17-2011 12:01 PM

The state of being 'silenced' or suppressed (correct term), is the noise being below a certain decibel level. Many firearms are very capable of reaching below that level, even shotguns.

c3shooter 06-17-2011 01:07 PM

There are 3 components of noise- muzzle blast, bullet breaking sound barrier, and action cycling. The Ruger does OK, but there ARE quieter suppressed guns.

And be careful about taking advice on other matters from the person that told you that.

winds-of-change 06-17-2011 01:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by c3shooter (Post 524494)
YouTube - ‪Silenced 1895 Nagant revolver (NFA)‬‏

There are 3 components of noise- muzzle blast, bullet breaking sound barrier, and action cycling. The Ruger does OK, but there ARE quieter suppressed guns.

And be careful about taking advice on other matters from the person that told you that.

I am absolutely amazed at how quiet that is. :eek:

sparky80 06-18-2011 12:12 PM