Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   .22 Rifle/Rimfire Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f21/)
-   -   Simmons 22 mag (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f21/simmons-22-mag-97088/)

brngiese 09-15-2013 03:19 PM

Simmons 22 mag

Hi all. I'm looking at getting a Simmons .22 mag for my 10/22. I am new at scopes. What is the difference between the 4 power and 3-9. What would be best for my gun. I'm just wanting to plink with it. Thanks

Axxe55 09-15-2013 03:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by brngiese (Post 1372735)
Hi all. I'm looking at getting a Simmons .22 mag for my 10/22. I am new at scopes. What is the difference between the 4 power and 3-9. What would be best for my gun. I'm just wanting to plink with it. Thanks

the nice thing is the 22 rimfire has next to no recoil, so it doesn't have the need for super expensive optics like most centerfire rifles.

the 4x is a straight 4 power scope. the 3-9 is a variable with powers that can be changed from 3 to 9 power with the dial.

which is best for your rifle is purely personal and subjective. which one suits your needs better? personally i like a 3-9 on even my rimfire 22's and my father uses nothing but a straight 4 power on his.

Triumphman 09-19-2013 04:15 AM

I'm a little late to the party, but also look at the Simmons 44MAG(new model with Red Ring around Elevation Knob). This Scope is 3-12x44 with Side Focus. The Glass is crystal clear, no haze at the edges, quick Eye Focus and just overall outstanding for the price. At least with this Scope, you're not limited with a 50yd Parallax that the 22MAG has. I have one mounted on a Ruger 77/22 Magnum and I'm very pleased with it.
Del

John_Deer 09-20-2013 02:37 AM