Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   .22 Rifle/Rimfire Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f21/)
-   -   Which Ruger 10/22 should I get? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f21/ruger-10-22-should-i-get-81879/)

RedBengal 01-20-2013 12:26 AM

Which Ruger 10/22 should I get?

Hey guys,

I'm a bit new to shooting and thought I'd ask for some help here. I'd like to get a 10/22 for target shooting and to build out. They just look like a lot of fun. I know there are many versions of them. Any recommendations?

The Takedown looks like fun, but I didn't know if they were harder to customize because aren't they built differently? Are there as many options for them? Or am I better off starting with a different model.

I know the Takedown is hard to find, but I'm not in a hurry to get one. I can be patient.

Thanks for any feedback.

HOSSFLY 01-20-2013 12:41 AM

IMO i'd say start with the mininum basic-
More fun to start & go from there- Skys the limit :cool:

mb315 01-20-2013 02:41 AM

I have a takedown and honestly couldn't be happier. I have a BSA Sweet 22 3-9x40 on it, and am going to put on an auto bolt release. I also have a butler creek 25 round magazine that i use and i love it. I don't know what all you plan on doing with yours, but I can tell you it is a very nice unit and I love the fact that it comes with a bag that I can store EVERYTHING in. Also it is very easy to clean the barrel (being that it is a separate piece) and the action pops right out to clean with just undoing a screw. Hope this helps.

cgersty 01-20-2013 02:53 AM

I don't own a ruger yet, but if I did and planned on modding it to the gills I would start with a base model wooden stick one, no sense buying a top of the line stocked one if your gonna change everything out anyways. Just my 02 cents

X-Raycer 01-20-2013 04:42 AM

I agree with HOSS & cgersty.
I have two, both base carbines.