Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   .22 Rifle/Rimfire Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f21/)
-   -   Ruger 10/22 Customization Help (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f21/ruger-10-22-customization-help-57621/)

JackofTrades 02-13-2012 04:29 AM

Ruger 10/22 Customization Help

Alright to start I am new to any of this, I've never put aftermarket upgrades into any gun before, but I would like to start. This all got kinda started when I went to the range today and found out they have .22 LR matches there so I was thinking that maybe I should upgrade a lot of the parts on my 10/22 and I'll have a decent gun to use in competitions.

Now I have no idea what manufacturers for the parts are good, or where to even look to get theses parts at a good price. So I'm hoping you guys can help me out with a lot of this. I got this ruger 10/22 carbine off this site when they were giving it to a lucky person. I haven't gotten to shoot it too much since I haven't been at home since I am still a college student, but summer is approaching and I would like to start turning this thing into something I can bring to a competition. I don't plan on doing this all at once, this will probably be something I do gradually over time.

Now on to the good stuff. In order of most important to me to least this is what I want to do to my gun:

1) First and foremost, I want to change that trigger around, that has way too much pull before it goes off. From what I've read before I just have to replace the hammer.

2) Next I would like to put a heavier barrel on there. If possible too longer than the stock barrels.