Offhand supporting arm position.
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > .22 Rifle/Rimfire Discussion > Offhand supporting arm position.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-19-2012, 03:27 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 1739 Times on 898 Posts
Likes Given: 1338

Default Offhand supporting arm position.

I’m new to this. I’m investigating a .22lr trainer purchase. I shouldered a few .22s yesterday (no sling). If I brace my support elbow against my body, my hand falls right where the magazine is. If I move my hand forward the magazine, my elbow is hanging out in air and I lose the support of my body. What am I doing wrong? Or is that the nature of the beast?

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 02-19-2012, 03:51 PM   #2

Liked 311 Times on 207 Posts
Likes Given: 27

Try using a sling with a cuff that straps around your biceps. This will give you good triangulated support in the off hand as well as sitting, kneeling, and prone unsupported positions.

Old 02-19-2012, 03:52 PM   #3

Liked 1958 Times on 1030 Posts
Likes Given: 4286