My first time
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > .22 Rifle/Rimfire Discussion > My first time

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-04-2009, 06:43 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default My first time

Hi,

I have a Winchester model 250 lever action, that needs to be broken down, for a good cleaning, and this is my first time breaking down any firearm.

Any advice:

Also what is a good cleaner & a good oil to use?
--------------------------------------------------
Any help would be appreciated.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 02-05-2009, 12:58 AM   #2
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 9149 Times on 3951 Posts
Likes Given: 1426

Well, the standard powder solvent for YEARS has been Hoppes #9. But there are lot of others- Ed's Red for one. You might also want to try one of the spray cleaners, like Gunscrubber (keep it off finishes on wood) Remoil is a decent light lube, as is Break Free. Visit your local sporting goods store, see what they have.

Advice? Make sure it is unloaded. Then check to be sure it is unloaded. Did I mention to be sure it is unloaded?

Only take your rifle down to the point that it NEEDS to be taken down. Many a gunsmith ahs been presented with a bag of peices parts, and a request to put it back together.