Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > .22 Rifle/Rimfire Discussion > First .22

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-27-2010, 12:22 PM   #31
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrueNorth View Post
Hey all, I'm new to the firearms world (if you read my intorduction thread you'll know that already).

Anyways, I'm just starting out and am looking for a good beginner .22 rimfire rifle. I'm not too sure what I want, however it will mostly be used for just plinking and practice.
I do like good ol' bolt actions, but I think I want a semi-auto just so i can pound out rounds quick and get my skill level up.

I do plan to keep it for awhile - so good quality is a factor, and price is not really consideration, provided its not made of gold

Does any one have a particular rifle that they're happy with and would recommend (or advise to stay away from) or even just brands that i could research up on?
How about something in between ?
Marlin makes a very nice lever action 22 with a milled receiver and plate.
These are capable for many rounds of fun. If it's a bit pricey Henry makes excellent 22 rifles for cheap. If your going to do a lot of shooting though go with the Marlin.

No Son of a Bitch ever won a War by Dying for His Country ! It's the Son of a Bitch who makes the Other Poor Bastard Die for His Country who Wins the War !

George S. Patton, General 3rd Army United States .

Old 12-02-2010, 02:03 AM   #32

what you saw was the new Ruger .22 Charger pistol. Thing kicks ass, basicly its a factory 10/22 action with a pistol grip, a bipod and a short barrel. BTW my first gun was a 10/22 given to me by my father, loved it then, still do. Thing is just the most fun to shoot.

Old 12-02-2010, 02:06 PM   #33

Liked 22 Times on 19 Posts

Default Winchester Model 310, .22 cal. rimfire, single shot, bolt action.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrueNorth View Post