Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   .22 Rifle/Rimfire Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f21/)
-   -   Choosing my first .22! (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f21/choosing-my-first-22-a-48293/)

Smythe222 09-15-2011 03:34 AM

Choosing my first .22!

Hello Everyone!

First post, and already asking for opinions/advice.

So I have read and reread a few different posts about .22s here and have gotten some fantastic info. I hope to provide enough info on what I'm looking for and my situation for you all! I am a novice shooter at best, and my good friends who've shot their whole lives have told me to grab a .22 and shoot the crap out of it and get some good instruction to start.

Now I am a college student so I'm not loaded, so I don't have thousands to dump into a gun. As far as use of the gun I'm going to do a lot of plinking, and I do a ton of backpacking and feel a .22 would be a good gun for small game.

I am looking for a .22 that is very accurate, good for a relative newbie, and is very durable. Ease of cleaning would be nice as I've never cleaned a .22. At my local shop there is a sale on the Marlin 795 for 100 bucks and in addition I'd get the $25 mail in rebate. I've also read that the Ruger 10/22 is another fantastic weapon. Any opinions/info about things to look for, cleaning tips, etc would be very much appreciated. I hope my first post is informative and well written for you all. Hope to talk to you soon!

MrWray 09-15-2011 06:02 AM

My opinion is get the ruger 10/22, case being they r a blank slate on everything tht u can do to them.. Plus they r really accurate and dependable. Ive had mine since i was 12 and im 33 now, havent cleaned it in years and it still shoots like a charm

Gh0zt36 09-15-2011 10:14 AM