Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > .22 Rifle/Rimfire Discussion > Browning BL 22 SN question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2010, 07:01 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Browning BL 22 SN question

Any help on identifying the real year and make of this rifle would be much appreciated!

Browning BL 22 pictures by pwrslide2 - Photobucket

Just picked up a new gun at the recent gun show in Arizona. I guess you could call it new. It's "Supposedly" a year 1975 BL 22 Grade 2 and the guy that sold it to me said he has been collecting guns since the 70s and bought this and a few others of same time brand new. Same guy said it's never been shot and was stored away and from the looks of it, I believe it but I'm no expert. Came with the original Box and original Operation and Care Manual with the writing in it saying Date of purchase Dec 5th, 1975 and SN and $129.50!!!

This rifle was advertised as 1975 Grade II so that really got me excited. Never been shot was a bonus. From a little research that I did before I went to the show I knew that the older models were primarily made in the USA. This one has a made in Japan on the barrel but I was told some parts were made in Japan and then it was assembled in the USA.

The Serial Number is 47B46340.
Doesn't match up with Browning's website naming convention for any year.
Maybe the B is really an eight 8?
BL-22 Rifle

I've googled and came up with some other info but people seem to be confused as well and no real answers out there.

Quote:
GunBroker.com Message Forums - Browning BL-22 confusing serial