Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   .22 Rifle/Rimfire Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f21/)
-   -   Which Is The Better Deal???? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f21/better-deal-10848/)

SGT-MILLER 02-13-2009 02:44 AM

Which Is The Better Deal????

Okay...

I have a choice between two .22LR rifles. Which one in y'alls opinions should I buy?

A Mossberg 702 Plinkster for 109.99 dollars, or a Savage bolt action (basic model with 10 round magazine) for 129.99 dollars? Both are blued with the black synthetic stocks, and iron sights.

Enlighten me, please!!!!!!!!

:)

dnthmn2004 02-13-2009 02:54 AM

I have a savage but in 17hmr. I love the bolt on it and the trigger is fantastic from factory IMO. Unfortunately, I have no experience with mossberg. Wait for stalking bear to come along, he seems to know the most about 22LRs around here.

big shrek 02-13-2009 06:53 AM

Mossberg has a good rep :)

The only Savage .22 I ever owned peeved me off so bad I'd be unlikely to purchase another.

Jdrawdy 02-13-2009 05:21 PM

I've had several savages over the years and they are hard to beat for the money. Have not had one of the mossbergs yet but if they are as rugged as most of there other guns they shouldnt be bad. The savage is very rugged i have put about ten thousand plus rounds through my savage auto and it still shoots just as good as the day i got it.

rugermike 02-13-2009 06:03 PM

???

If I have to choose between these 2 choices I would save my money and buy a good Ruger or Marlin! JMO

sgtdeath66 02-13-2009 06:09 PM

ive ot no experience point with either brand or rifles but, dont the savages have the accu- trigger in'em?

sgtdeath66 02-13-2009 06:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rugermike (Post 70829)
If I have to choose between these 2 choices I would save my money and buy a good Ruger or Marlin! JMO

id go with a marlin or a remington 597