Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   .22 Rifle/Rimfire Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f21/)
-   -   best .22lr bolt action rimfire for adult beginner? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f21/best-22lr-bolt-action-rimfire-adult-beginner-67605/)

mike2021 07-04-2012 03:25 PM

best .22lr bolt action rimfire for adult beginner?

I am 22 years old and I am new to shooting. I have been shooting with my brothers ruger 10/22 and my other brother's Henry golden boy lever action and decided it would be nice to get a bolt action rim fire in the family, problem is I don't know which one is best for my budget of 300$ max. Less expensive is always better. I'm really into accuracy and getting a solid foundation of shooting skills, and one day in the future go small game hunting.
I know savage mark 2 series is always mentioned but I'm interested in knowing if there is any difference besides price between all models that fall under the "mark 2 series" I need it to be .22lr because of cheap ammo.

Thanks in advance guys!!

ktmboyz 07-04-2012 04:45 PM

I have a Savage bolt in 17hmr and love it .. I would like to get one in 22lr also, so I guess my vote would be the Savage. You can pick up the scoped combos pretty cheap from time to time.

Axxe55 07-04-2012 04:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mike2021 (Post 858726)
I am 22 years old and I am new to shooting. I have been shooting with my brothers ruger 10/22 and my other brother's Henry golden boy lever action and decided it would be nice to get a bolt action rim fire in the family, problem is I don't know which one is best for my budget of 300$ max. Less expensive is always better. I'm really into accuracy and getting a solid foundation of shooting skills, and one day in the future go small game hunting.