Firearm & Gun Forum -

Firearm & Gun Forum - (
-   .22 Rifle/Rimfire Discussion (
-   -   Barrel Questions (

oneshotonekill 05-14-2011 05:38 PM

Barrel Questions
I have a stock ruger 10/22 and it's fairly accurate to a decent ranger but i want it pin point accurate at a little bit father out like a 100 yards or more and i am looking to get a bull barrel along with a new stock but some people say that bull barrels don't increase accuracy but a lot of people say it does and i just don't know which one is true i think it would but i don't know for sure so i was wanting to see if a bull barrel does increase accuracy at longer ranges

Jesse17 05-14-2011 05:55 PM

I'm no expert, but I believe the added weight of a bull barrel lends itself to stability when firing, and is slower to be affected by heat when you're firing more than one round.

I don't know if the effects on barrel harmonics increases accuracy or not. I would assume it would.

yellowhand 05-14-2011 06:15 PM

.22 lr for 100 yards
Ammo, better trigger, bi-pod and a lot of practice.
Target ammo which means far more expensive will reduce your groupings
A better trigger, reduced to as low as safe and without take up and such will help.
A bi-pod or steady rest will do wonders at longer range.
Barrels will also help,,,,but,,,,
It's normally a FULL package to reduce group size, not just one item.
5000 rounds down range will do wonders to make a weapon live up to the owners expectations and hopes.
A good shooter with an ok weapon will outshoot a so-so shooter with a weapon with all the bells and such each and every time.
I killed an 8 pound jack rabbit with a $110.00 Gamo .17 from Walmart last evening at about one hundred yards. Single shot to the head, but I was wearing my eyeglasses:):D:);)

oneshotonekill 05-14-2011 06:55 PM