Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > .22 Rifle/Rimfire Discussion > .22 Semi-Auto over Bolt Action?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-10-2009, 12:26 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default .22 Semi-Auto over Bolt Action?

Ok guys, like I said in introductions I'm a newbie here with a couple of questions for the experienced rifle users among you...

I'm looking to buy my first gun soon and I've pretty much decided on a .22lr rifle for target shooting at the local range. I've been reading up and comparing models and it seems the Ruger 10/22 would be most peoples choice but my question is what are the pros and cons of a Bolt Action rifle over a Semi Auto like the Ruger I'm looking at?

The improved speed and ease of use of the Semi Auto seems to be the obvious advantage but am I missing something with a bolt action? Are they more reliable? durable? Does the bolt action make you slow down and in turn achieve better accuracy?

Or am I looking and trying to compare two completely different rifles meant for different jobs.

Thanks in advance for any replies and wisdom.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 12-10-2009, 12:38 AM   #2

Liked 1416 Times on 808 Posts
Likes Given: 1290

Unless you're a PUREST, get the semi-auto.

If you are like the rest of us in the bell curve, auto is the way to go.

Bolt guys are disabled from birth. If your right hand doesn't jerk and go in search of a metal phallus each time you fire a long gun your good to go with a semi.

http://i1060.photobucket.com/albums/...ps18cfbeae.jpg