.22 mag accuracy trouble!
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > .22 Rifle/Rimfire Discussion > .22 mag accuracy trouble!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2010, 12:46 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default .22 mag accuracy trouble!

Hey guys im new to this whole thing. But anyways i have a Ruger 77/22 mag all weather edition rifle with a leapold 2-7x32 powered scope on top held down by some ruger rings. I bought this gun used. The problem is i cant get a grouping better than 2 inches and thats off a benchrest at 100 yards! So i took it to the gun shop down the street to have the crowing checked but we came to the conclusion that my scope paralex was messed up so we adjusted that. Next day took it out and no luck! Plz tell me what could be wrong with this gun!

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 02-22-2010, 01:30 AM   #2

Liked 32 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 45

What kind of Leupold 2-7 do you have that the parallax can be adjusted in a gunstore? Does it have an "adjustable objective"?

Are your scope rings torqued too tight? Try about 15 inch lbs. Your rings should be lapped too, to ensure they are straight. This overlooked step should always be done when mounting a scope.

The other thing I would try is a wide selection of ammo. Buy as many brands and bullet weights as you can find. My .22Mag is very ammo sensitive.

Old 02-22-2010, 12:50 PM   #3