Zeroing at close range
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > Zeroing at close range

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-20-2013, 04:53 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 282 Times on 204 Posts
Likes Given: 192

Default Zeroing at close range

So I'm new to the rifle platform and have a zero question....

If I am forced to zero at my local indoor range (25 yards) and want to zero my sights to 75 yards.....how many inches above target should I be?

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 03-20-2013, 05:16 PM   #2

Liked 2401 Times on 1406 Posts
Likes Given: 540

What rifle, caliber and scope? At 25 yds you most likely want to be a little low, because the bullet hasn't hit it's apex yet and started to drop. Bullets travel in an arc, going up and then dropping. So you would need to know the trajectory if the round you intend to use and the distance you want to be sighted in for. Then you have to account for the height of the sights over the bore. There are ballistics programs that will get you pretty close if you put in the cartridge data, and sight height, along with the distance you want to be zeroed for. Some will tell you how high the bullet should be at your sight in distance for a given zero range.

Old 03-20-2013, 06:09 PM   #3

Ar-15 using mainly 55gr .223 rounds

No scope, most likely an non-zoom optic which is why I want no more than 75yards for a zero. I plan on shooting mainly between 25-75 yards