Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   AR-15 Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/)
-   -   Your preferred (best) ammo for 5.56/.223 1:7 16" AR15? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/your-preferred-best-ammo-5-56-223-1-7-16-ar15-26637/)

Poink88 04-30-2010 03:19 AM

Your preferred (best) ammo for 5.56/.223 1:7 16" AR15?

Planning on buying an AR in the future and starting my research on what ammo to use now.

What is your preferred (or recommended) ammo and for what application (target, SD/HD, hunting, etc.)?

Thanks.

556plinker 04-30-2010 03:41 AM

good thread

I am new to AR platform as well and have questions relating to the same topic. WHAT is the deal with pressures using the steel cased ammo in an AR. My owners manual warned against the use of wolf and the like but I know people shoot it???? Ive stuck with brass cased fiocci 55g fmj's to date.

What bullet weights can I use with the 16" 1:7 twist and how accurate would the varying wieghts be?

DONT MEAN TO HIJACK YOUR THREAD 88....but I think you need to know this as well.

Quentin 04-30-2010 06:16 AM

Even though I have a 5.56 chamber I tend to use .223 55gr steel case and 55gr PMC for the bulk of my shooting, mainly due to cost. Now for accuracy, distance and defense there are better (but more costly) choices that I'm sure will be discussed later. As you know, your 1/7 twist loves heavier/longer bullets but does all right with 55gr.

Poink88 04-30-2010 11:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 556plinker (Post 278335)
I am new to AR platform as well and have questions relating to the same topic. WHAT is the deal with pressures using the steel cased ammo in an AR. My owners manual warned against the use of wolf and the like but I know people shoot it???? Ive stuck with brass cased fiocci 55g fmj's to date.

What bullet weights can I use with the 16" 1:7 twist and how accurate would the varying wieghts be?