worth it - Page 3
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion > worth it

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-01-2011, 04:45 AM   #21
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 1147 Times on 803 Posts
Likes Given: 1163

The problem with kits is that you can do soooo much better if you invest some time and do your homework. Really you can learn before buying the wrong thing. Figure out what you want and what's out there. Rarely will a kit hit every high point. A couple years ago I was a noob and could have easily jumped on a kit, but fortunately I spent a lot of time researching before buying. Today after learning the ropes I cringe when I see kits.

If you're determined to buy a Del-Ton kit, I'd look at their 16" LW midlength, 1:7, chrome lined and see if you can get their new M16 HPI/MPI BCG. Del-Ton does let you upgrade parts so read up on ARs (ideally for weeks!) and cherry pick the parts you've determined you want. But the problem here is I'm telling you what I want, only you know what YOU want.
US Army 1966-69, VFW Life Member, Retired Geek

Old 06-01-2011, 04:58 AM   #22

Likes Given: 1

Default yah ur right

i will read some i wonder if they have ar-15 for dummys

Old 06-01-2011, 05:02 AM   #23

Liked 8 Times on 5 Posts

Any of the Del-Ton kit will work fine, but any rifle with a 16" barrel and a rifle length gas system will have to be altered in order to make use of the gas (lack of) that is harvested in this set up.

A 16" barrel with a gas port drilled at Rifle length (12") for the gas system cannot harvest enough pressure to reliably cycle the BCG. There is simply not enough "dwell time"- time from after projectile passes port and exits muzzle (when the rest of the pressure is released.) This causes the rifle to "short stroke" and results in extreme frustration and loud cursing. . .