widham ARs - Page 5
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > AR-15 Discussion >

widham ARs


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-29-2013, 03:08 PM   #41
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cherry Valley,Arkansas
Posts: 440
Liked 115 Times on 84 Posts
Likes Given: 144

Default

Hardly an AR expert, but I would build, or have built. I grabbed two at the start of the panic, M&P Sport and BR-10 and was lucky to get them right before the price went into orbit. But both have had parts replaced, the BR-10 has a lot of aftermarket. Lowers are not difficult to assemble and many places will supply a complete ready to use upper that you can spec. If a purchaser would be happy to leave a base model alone then great, doubt there is anything "wrong" with them, but I have a pile of "stock" parts including the com tube that nobody is beating down my door to take off my hands.
p35bhp55 is offline  
Quentin Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2013, 03:43 PM   #42
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
kryptar19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: arkansas
Posts: 1,768
Liked 641 Times on 382 Posts
Likes Given: 2022

Default

Hey Q, us not agreeing is what made this thread interesting.
kryptar19 is offline  
2
People Like This 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2013, 04:01 PM   #43
The Apocalypse Is Coming.....
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 7
Liked 22308 Times on 12476 Posts
Likes Given: 53672

Default

i happen to own an older Bushmaster, that's prior to when they were bought by the Freedom Group. it works fine for me. does what i want an AR for. has done so since i have owned it. have not yet to date hadto replace anything. i'll run it as it until something breaks or wears out, at which time i will upgrade parts as needed.
Axxe55 is offline  
3
People Like This 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2013, 04:21 PM   #44
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
AgentTikki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: City of Lost Angels, Kommifornia
Posts: 3,453
Liked 340 Times on 265 Posts
Likes Given: 51

Default

At least ya'll are being gentlemenly about it. Funny how this reminds me of the mike n bill delton tirades
__________________
Assumption is the mother of all ****ups.
Know what you know, Know what you don't know. -Paul Pedzolt
"Jack of all trades, master of none, though oftentimes better than master of one" -Mynshul
AgentTikki is offline  
3
People Like This 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2013, 04:23 PM   #45
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
kryptar19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: arkansas
Posts: 1,768
Liked 641 Times on 382 Posts
Likes Given: 2022

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AgentTikki
At least ya'll are being gentlemenly about it. Funny how this reminds me of the mike n bill delton tirades
Lol yea. We could be typing in all caps.
kryptar19 is offline  
Axxe55 Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2013, 04:42 PM   #46
The Apocalypse Is Coming.....
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 7
Liked 22308 Times on 12476 Posts
Likes Given: 53672

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AgentTikki View Post
At least ya'll are being gentlemenly about it. Funny how this reminds me of the mike n bill delton tirades
Quote:
Originally Posted by kryptar19 View Post
Lol yea. We could be typing in all caps.
i too have seen a few AR discussions turn into all out grudge fights in the past!
Axxe55 is offline  
2
People Like This 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 03:07 AM   #47
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
shadow07080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 34
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Has anyone with a WW put a 12" or larger quad rail on there AR? I have a shorty (7) on it now but love the look of the longer ones. I'm not sure if any modification is needed to do this. New to AR world. If there is a rail that can just be swapped can you please let me know (maybe a link).

Thanks in advance!!
shadow07080 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 03:09 AM   #48
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Anna_Purna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 7,236
Liked 6752 Times on 3670 Posts
Likes Given: 5796

Default

Do u have a gas block on the front, or a frame sight?
Anna_Purna is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 03:13 AM   #49
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
shadow07080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 34
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Gas.? Like I said new to this LOL ;-)
image-3719481356.jpg  
shadow07080 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 04:50 AM   #50
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Quentin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Idaho
Posts: 6,874
Liked 1190 Times on 828 Posts
Likes Given: 1228

Default

You have a tall railed gas block. You're probably going to have to replace it with a low profile block to install long rails.
__________________
______
The biggest issue with assembling an AR isn't so much getting the parts together right - it's getting the right parts together.
________________________________________
US Army 1966-69, VFW Life Member, Retired Geek
Quentin is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes




Newest Threads